Light Show

October 25 clock 09:56 AM


Music Gallery
Toronto, ON

plus Radar

Ticket Booth

Door: $20 Regular, $15 Student,Senior, Arts Worker


Presented by:

Thin Edge New Music Collective, Music Gallery

Event Details

Light Show is a concert inspired by the 2015 year of Light and Light Sciences. This concert will feature the world premiere of a new work by Michael Oesterle for piano and violin commissioned by Daniel Cooper, Tristan Murail’s spectral masterpiece Treize couleurs du soleil couchant with illuminations created by Toronto-based artist Sonja Raineyand Nicaraguan-American composer and guitarist Gabriel José Bolaños Chamorro’s A Trip Down Market Street for chamber ensemble and silent film.

Light Show will also include the Toronto premiere of Music for Lamps by Montreal-based sound artists and composers Adam Basanta, Max Stein, and Julian Stein, an installation and performance work for 12 sound and light emitting lamps. Each lamp is discreetly outfitted with a surface transducer speaker, turning the lamps into both light and sound emitters. The lamps are arranged to both surround and permeate audience members, creating a 12 channel light and 14 channel sound performance. The installation investigates the potential of domestic objects, both to recall their quotidian functions and – through aesthetic transformation – transcend them.

Light Show is presented with generous support from the Toronto Arts Council, Ontario Arts Council and Arraymusic.

Featured Program


Music For Lamps – Adam Basanta, Max Stein, Julian Stein


Gabriel José Bolaños Chamorro (b.1984) A Trip Down Market Street (2013)- flute, clarinet/bass clarinet, violin, viola cello, piano, percussion and silent film.

Michael Oesterle (b. 1968) New Work (2015)*- piano and violin

Tristan Murail (b. 1947) Treize Couleurs du Soleil Couchant (1978)-flute, clarinet, piano, cello, violin, electronics

*world premiere (this work is generously commissioned by Daniel Cooper)

Thin Edge New Music Collective Performers:

Rachael Abramoff-viola
Cheryl Duvall- piano
Sarah Yunji Moon- flute
Nathan Petitpas-percussion
Anthony Thompson-clarinet
Ilana Waniuk-violin
Dobrochna Zubek-cello